PUBLISHERS - FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
Monetize Your Site
I am getting decent traffic to my site, why shouldn't I contact advertisers directly?
There is nothing to stop you from trying to contact advertisers directly, but most advertisers prefer to deal with an agency who can provide a portfolio of websites to deliver their campaigns.
Although we do charge a commission, we have the expertise to maximise your sites revenue potential. We take care of everything from dealing with the advertisers through to managing the campaign and chasing payment – letting you get on with building your online community.
Are there any sign-up costs involved?
There is no cost for signing up as a publisher.
Are there any terms I should be familiar with before I start?
We have listed all the jargon we think you will need. If however you come across a term that you don't understand and it's not listed here then simply mail us at info@greenbeansmedia.com and we'll do our best to find an explanation.
- Ad server
A powerful publishing server which delivers the ad to the viewer. These servers are often hosted and managed by a third party rather than the media owner. Typically they also count and report the numbers of ads served.
- Ad space
The area of a publisher's site where advertising exists.
- Conversion Tracking
A conversion occurs when a click on your ad leads directly to user behaviour you deem valuable, such as a purchase, signup, page view, or lead. Using our conversion tracking pixel, you can see which sites your conversions come from.
- CPM
The price of 1000 page impressions. For example 50,000 page impressions at a cost of £15 CPM = (50 x 15 £CPM) = £750.
- CTR (Click-through rate)
The number of clicks your ad receives divided by the number of times your ad is shown (impressions).
- Impressions
The number of impressions is the number of times an ad is displayed.
- Insertion Order
A formal printed order to run a campaign between a buyer and a seller of advertising.
- Inventory
The total number of ad impressions that a website or a specific channel has to sell over a given time
- MPU's (Mid-Page Unit/Messaging Plus Unit)
An advert that sits in the middle of online editorial. Because an MPU is surrounded by editorial, it is therefore more likely to be read.
- Run of Site
Adverts can be targeted through specific sections or put on a run of site (i.e. across the whole site).
How does GBM get paid?
Once a publisher joins our network, our job is to go out and find the best adverts to show on the publishers website. We take a commission payment on any revenue generated from displaying advertisements on our network.
